The Greek Adventure of Culture, History and Beauty in the Greek Mountains

The Epirus trail passes near Lake Drakolimni, the Greek sub-alpine lake. Credit: Facebook/Epirus Trail

The Epirus Trail, with an initial length of 370 km (230 miles), is a mountain adventure that crosses Epirus from Mount Grammos to the Tzoumerka mountain range.

The longest hiking trail in Greece started to take shape in 2015, thanks to the Epirus region and the development company “EPIRUS SA”.

Epirus Trail promotes the ancient road route by which the inhabitants of Epirus moved to the mainland and other parts of Greece, or abroad, for centuries.

The areas that cross the hiking trail include places of outstanding natural beauty, unique landscapes; an interesting man-made environment with unique cultural elements.

The Epirus Region aims to develop hiking tourism; and in general alternative tourism, as another tool for the development of the region. The creation and certification of Epirus Trail is of great importance; integrating the concept of the old way into the modern tourist market.

The trail originally crosses the basic trails of the 4 regional units of Epirus which have a diverse network (Zagoria, Metsovo, Konitsa, North Tzoumerka), allowing visitors to choose between shorter or longer treks.

Epirus Trail Highlights

Some of the special points of interest are:

1. It crosses the areas of 4 large mountainous municipalities of Epirus (Metsovo, Zagori, Konitsa, North Tzoumerka) and connects them.

2. It follows two parallel axes, on one side there is the Voidomatis river basin (Vikos gorge) and the Aoos river basin, then it moves side by side to the wider Arachthos river basin .

3. It has three important vertical branches, as follows:
a. “Typhi-Zagori Mountains” (Tsepelovo-Vovousa)”,
b. “Ano Aoos” (Metsovo-Murgos-Vovousa),
vs. “Aoos Gorge” (Vrysochori-Konitsa)”.

4. The main trail is 370 km long and the branches are about 80 km.

5. It will be gradually extended to neighboring Communes and neighboring Regions.

6. It crosses all the existing mountain huts (7).

7. It passes through sections of “classic” trails and other recognized trails, such as: “O3”, “E4”, “UrsaTrai”, “Zagori Mountain Trail”.

8. It passes through the three main towns of Metsovo, Konitsa and Pramanta.

9. It passes through 25 mountainous localities and close to many more.

10. It crosses the two “ancient” and internationally known national forests of “Pindos-ValiaCalda” and “Vikos-Aoos”.

11. It crosses the North Pindus National Park and the Vikos-Aoos Geopark (a UNESCO natural heritage site and listed in the Guinness Book) as well as the “National Park of the Gorges of Tzoumerka, Peristeri and Arachthos”.

12. It crosses nine areas of the “Natura 2000” network of protected areas.

13. It passes through more than 12 listed traditional settlements and many monuments, such as holy monasteries (at least 10), stone bridges (at least 15).

14. It passes mainly by old paths and road arteries.

The Epirus Trail is the route of culture, history and adventure.


Comments are closed.